Skip navigation
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
2991 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Jan 30, 2013 6:38 PM by mjfichera RSS
mjfichera Newcomer 2 posts since
Jan 4, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 4, 2013 10:43 PM

Real Time Scanning drops off / corrupt DAT files

I'm using Security Center Ver 11.6 Build 11.6.443 on a Vista (Ultimate Edition) PC. Real Time Scanning keeps shutting Off.

Logged in as an administrator, I keep turning it back on but it's no use.  When I try to run a Quick Scan, it freezes at about 12% to 15% completed, and then says, "An Error Has Occurred - An unexpected problem occurred during your scan."

I ran Virtual Technician, which fixed 2 of the 4 problems. The log says:

Service: mcshield "C:\Program Files\Common Files\McAfee\SystemCore\\mcshield.exe"

Top Issues: DetectRealTimeScanningOffIssue

In the MVTHealthCheck log:

1 Top Issue

Top Issue: DetectRealTimeScanningOffIssue

Top Issue: Corrupt DAT issue

Suggestions? Should I reinstall? I think the original file I installed was dated 2/13/2007 (sasetup.exe), and I've just been getting updates since then.

Thanks!

Mike

• Peacekeeper Volunteer Moderator 21,354 posts since
    Nov 23, 2002
    1. Jan 5, 2013 3:31 AM (in response to mjfichera)
    Re: Real Time Scanning drops off / corrupt DAT files

Yes use the US or Au servers to install and you will get the latest 12.1 version provided you bought the mcafee product from Mcafee or a store. Partner's versions (dell or supplied by your ISP) will stay at 11.6 but even that might be a good idea as 5 years of updating probably warrants a clean reinstall.

http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?lc=1033&id=TS101331

Tony
    Volunteer Moderator
    Mcafee Total Protection 7.0 beta, Windows 8 64bit
    No Unrequested PMs please