7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 3, 2013 7:49 PM by cscoup8

WGV7.2 Coding round Proactive Scanner

iain.gardiner

Is there a way to code round the proactive scanner without bypassing AV totally. Under V6 you could whitelist the site from the scanner using the common whitelist?

We get a few cases similar to where we have to allow the user access.

Thx

[03/Oct/2012:09:02:37 +0100] MGW: Heuristic.BehavesLike.JS.Unwanted" "79.125.103.243" https://sl.bpsvlab.com/DSTCore/src/minimized/dstcore-min.js

• 1. Re: WGV7.2 Coding round Proactive Scanner
          Jon Scholten

There is many ways you can do this, see screenshots of examples:

hostlist-fixed.png

You will need to create a rule (depending on your version) like the one in the screenshot called "Fill AV attributes". This will fill all of the AV properties such as the virus name, such that you are able to exempt it.

The last rule (more complex) uses properties I've never used before (but it works). Basically it compares two lists side by side (so you must make sure it is one to one!!!!), and if it finds the virus name in the list, it returns the corresponding item in the other list (in this case, the domain).

viruslist.png hostlist.png

Let me know if this helps,

Jon

Message was edited by (corrected "complex" rule): jscholte on 10/3/12 3:52:32 PM CDT
          • 2. Re: WGV7.2 Coding round Proactive Scanner
            Jon Scholten

I have corrected a mistake I made with the "more complex" rule.

• 3. Re: WGV7.2 Coding round Proactive Scanner
              asabban

If you want to bypass specific features of the Anti Malware Engine you can go to Policy->Settings and create a new Anti-Malware Engine setting. In there you can completely choose which features should be applied. To turn off heuristics you can remove the "Enable heuristic scanning" checkbox. If you want to turn off Proactive Scanning you could remove the "Enable mobile code scanning" and leave all other settings in place.