Skip navigation
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
7870 Views 29 Replies Latest reply: Mar 5, 2013 7:33 PM by Peacekeeper RSS 1 2 3 Previous Next
rebeldesigns Newcomer 1 posts since
Aug 26, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 26, 2012 11:07 AM

McAfee Updates forcibly shut down computer

This is my first time posting here, so if this problem has already been addressed, please feel free to delete or point me in the right direction. I tried searching for this problem but it seems like I'm the only one experiencing this:

Whenever SecurityCenter does an automatic update, naturally you have the option to Restart Now or Restart Later. Of course, sometimes I am in the middle of something and wish to Restart Later. However, I've discovered if I click this option one too many times (not sure how many), a few minutes later my computer is forcibly shut down (it's not a system crash), with no option to stop it whatsoever. All the programs are terminated (and I lose all my work, by the way) and the computer is rebooted, without any warning.

I know that this is a McAfee problem because this has only happened after I've clicked Restart Later a few times. What I'd like to know is how to fix this so that my computer is never hijacked by McAfee and forcibly shut down without my permission (or fair warning!). I should, in theory, be able to put off restarting indefinitely, but for some reason McAfee won't take no for an answer.

I'm running Windows 7 on a Dell XPS15z, if that info is useful. Anyone know of a solution?

Thanks for any insight.

Sasha

• Hayton Volunteer Moderator 4,590 posts since
    Sep 27, 2010
    1. Aug 26, 2012 11:30 AM (in response to rebeldesigns)
    Re: McAfee Updates forcibly shut down computer