3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 23, 2012 8:19 AM by greatscott

Best practice advise

Hello everybody,

I would like some advice what the best practice is for my situation. Step by step guide would be very much appreciated. Here is my situation:

I am currently working at a new company and the are using McAfee and I am new to this product. Currently we are running Epo 4.5 with 4.5 agents and version 8.7 of the virus scanner. The system tree that they have looks like this:

My Organization

- Domain name

-Workstations

• Productiongroup (here are all current machines managed by the epo)
      • Test Group
      • Exeptions                                                                          

What I want to do is move some machines to the Test Group and deploy virus scan 8.8 to these machines. I would like to know the following things:

• What packs do I have to download to get this running?
      • Can I check in the needed software strait into the current branch without affecting the current machines?
      • Is it a must to run the ePOPolicyMigration.exe to get everything to work? And if so does this have any consequences for the current 8.7 machines or anything else?
      • Are there any other things that I have to pay attention to?

I thank everybody in advance for the help and pointers

Regards

McAfee newbe

• 1. Re: Best practice advise
          greatscott