0 Replies Latest reply on Jul 20, 2012 8:44 AM by shrikke

zeroaccess variant/version stinger/malwarebytes/rootkit Internet Security Suite unable to remove

I am an IT professional. I have 2 workstations and a laptop at home as my core "home computing" platform with servers/workstations/laptops coming and going. I recently got lazy and let a friend use my workstation for 2 min to "look something up on the internet". It turns out he got a list of sites for a certain product, ignored the "this site maybe be compromised" warning and clicked on the site and was logged in as admin, (me). About an hour later McAfee Internet Security warned me I had a virus. I did a complete scan, with reboots, etc and after about the 5th time I knew IS was not removing the trojan. The trojan reported was Zeroaccess. I went to various support sites for mcafee and followed all the directions and used ALL the tools with most current updates and even waited a few days to see if stinger/malwarebytes/rootkit might be updated for this variant so they would WORK. This did not help either. I went to McAfee tech support chat and was told to wipe my HDD or pay 80.00 for virus removal service and had my session terminated rudely. I am escallating this issue but I thought I might get help from the community of users like me faster than I might get help from a corporation since I don't have a gold support contract anymore and only contract for large firms/gov/mil etc.