4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2012 4:37 AM by mjmurra

New Autorun!inf.a

Hi,

I am a system admin. I would like like to ask why there I keep getting logs that user is infected with new autorun!inf.a.

McAfee anti-virus should have clean it/block it  ?

It even try to infect my file server.

How to resolve this issues ?

Best Regards,

Chris

• 1. Re: New Autorun!inf.a
          Hayton

"New autorun!inf.a" is known to McAfee - see

http://home.mcafee.com/virusinfo/virusprofile.aspx?key=359221

See also http://home.mcafee.com/virusinfo/virusprofile.aspx?key=141387#none which has more information about this sort of infection.

If McAfee is not detecting this, I need to know which McAfee program suite you are referring to. Is it the Enterprise edition?

• 2. Re: New Autorun!inf.a

Hi Hayton,

I am not sure of the suit but I have the latest:

McAfee AV version 8.8.0

McAfee AV DAT version 6770

The machine just get reinfected again and again.

I am wondering if the auto!inf.a could have run before the anti-virus do the scan.

Regards,

Chris

• 3. Re: New Autorun!inf.a
              Hayton

I am wondering if the auto!inf.a could have run before the anti-virus do the scan.

I don't know.  "8.8" is the current version of VirusScan Enterprise, so you have the Enterprise version of McAfee. This has functionality which I am not familiar with.

The question has been moved to the Business section, VirusScan Enterprise, for the attention of one of the moderators or other users there.

• 4. Re: New Autorun!inf.a

Any !inf detection refers to a malicious autorun.inf file usually on a USB key, but could also be on a hard drive, network drive or other portable media.

The file itself is not a virus, but rather a malicious pointer to another file that is. On some versions of Windows, the other file is automatically run without user intervention.