7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 27, 2012 8:43 AM by Hayton

Anti-virus Project: Help Needed

Hi Everyone,

I am studying as an engineering student in the field of Computer Science. I have now stepped into the last year of my course. So in this year i wil have to do my project. The topic i chose for my project was to make a simple antivirus. The main problem i am experiencing now is i dont know where to start with. I need your help in few areas like:

1)     Which detection method should i use?

2)     Which language should i use from these {c, c++, visual basic etc. }?

3)     Please give me some ideas.

I want to make this project very simple but also upto standard also. All are welcome for suggestions.

Try to help me with your best views and ideas and try not to write so much and loose the quality of your content. Please reply as soon as possible because i need to make some decisions which require your ideas.

Thank You very much.

Message was edited by: dencille on 6/24/12 3:19:28 PM CDT
        • 1. Re: Anti-virus Project: Help Needed
          Hayton

You have only a year to get this done? I wish you luck, you've got your work cut out. Best start somewhere, so start with Wikipedia, which is good enough for entry-level tech stuff. Plus the article has lots of references.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antivirus_software

There are several methods which antivirus software can use to identify malware.

Signature based detection is the most common method. To identify viruses and other malware, antivirus software compares the contents of a file to a dictionary of virus signatures. Because viruses can embed themselves in existing files, the entire file is searched, not just as a whole, but also in pieces.[16]

Heuristic-based detection, like malicious activity detection, can be used to identify unknown viruses.