5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 26, 2012 8:00 PM by montrealpaul

False Positives with Adobe Flash

montrealpaul

Hello! I'm new to both MVM (version 7) and this forum, so I'll start out slow, with just one of the issues I'm having... BTW, I have looked through all 414 discussions, and did not see anything which corresponded to my issue.

We have uninstalled Flash from all of our Customer's systems, using the Adobe Flash uninstaller. I've run a java script against some test stations, and it confirms that Flash is indeed not present.

However, MVM still "detects" hundreds of Flash "vulnerabilities". (actually, just over 50, but multiplied by all the hosts, it amounts to over 800 instances).

Here are just a few:

(APSA11-01) Adobe Flash Player ".xls" files Denial Of Service
      (APSA11-02) Adobe Flash Player/Acrobat/Reader Doc Remote Code Execution
      (APSB10-14) Adobe Flash Player Base Buffer Overflow Vulnerability
      (APSB10-14) Adobe Flash Player Heap Corruption Vulnerability
      (APSB10-14) Adobe Flash Player Indexing Weakness Vulnerability

I don't want to disable these scans, because we still want to detect hosts which were "missed", or on which Flash may somehow reappear, perhaps due to a re-installation.

Thank you!

-Paul

P.S.: The Flash Uninstaller can be found here: http://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player/kb/uninstall-flash-player-windows.html

• 1. Re: False Positives with Adobe Flash

We are relatively new to MVM (we've had it for a year) and I am just now going through the false positive process with 2nd-level support.

Based on my as-of-yet-incomplete experience, I would say the following: