7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 29, 2012 7:04 AM by toddunger

Steps that should be followed for a System to get the Latest DAT

kevin_27

Hi, I have been given a new responsibility of managing the McAfee Anti-Virus. I have been doing well thanks to you guys and surplus documents McAfee has published to make a life of an administrator easy. This Forum has been of great help to me.  Now as im new to McAffee, i was wondering why some PC's are not able to get the Latest DATs from the ePO. I could reason out a few

1. If we are unable to ping the ePO server from the PC- in short Network issue.

2. If the port 443 is not open

3. If McAfee service is not started

( And I guess there are lot more steps- if you can advise)

And i could alos see that the Systems which are pingable from the ePO console are still not getting the latest DAT. I tried Wake-up agents with Force complete policy option. But still Latest DAT is not updated.

Could you advise me the series of steps which i should follow to get the DAT updated.

• 1. Re: Steps that should be followed for a System to get the Latest DAT
          Tristan

Other reasons why a machine might not update

- Update task - If the machine in ePO doesn't have any DAT update task assigned to it and the local auto-update task has been disabled

- Security - If the machine is pulling it's DATs from a UNC repository and the security settings on that shared folder prevent it from downloading anything.

They are many reasons why a machine might not update. The simplest way to work out whats going on is to look at the agent log.

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\McAfee\Common Framework\Db  on XP

or

C:\Users\All Users\McAfee\Common Framework\DB on Win7

In the folder will be an "Agent_<computername>.log" file in there will be some indicating as to why they not updating.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Steps that should be followed for a System to get the Latest DAT

Dear Kevin,