6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2012 11:55 AM by tao

Agent GUID is same - Hypervisors

The cloned hypervisors have the same Agent GUID. If I delete the GUID and restart the McAfee Framework service. But, the machine when rebooted does not keep the change as it is a Xendesktop environment and it restores the previous settings.

Appreciate how this could be changed?

• 1. Re: Agent GUID is same - Hypervisors
          Tristan

I'm not a Xendesktop expert but i'm assuming that during your cloning process your also assigning new MAC addresses to the VMs

I think the framework service generates it's GUID based on the MAC address of the network card and therefore if it's the same MAC the GUID will be the same.

• 2. Re: Agent GUID is same - Hypervisors

Hi Tristan,

Thanks for your quick response. I did login just and checked the MAC address and they are different. This actually is taken care by the hypervisor itself to create it with a new MAC address. There was an article that states that if you delete the following registry key and restart the service it should work, but that holds good for regular desktops not for Xendesktops it does not work because the machine resets to the pristine image (a clean image) so it goes back to the settings.

This is the registry key they talk about, which I tried but the settings does not stay.

For current deployments
            IMPORTANT: These instructions are intended for use by ePO administrators only.

Step  1 - Verify the issue

1. Click Start, Run, type regedit and click OK.
            2. Compare the agent GUIDs on the affected clients. If the GUIDs are the same, then this is the cause of the problem. An agent GUID is stored as the data of the AgentGUID registry value:
              [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Network Associates\ePolicy Orchestrator\Agent\AgentGUID]

NOTE: