4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2012 11:45 AM by soviatt

AVSP Policy: Prevent mass mailing worms ignores java.exe exception

soviatt

Before I get started, I am not a Java developer, just the McAfee administrator so, no Javaesque please!

Anyway, our developers are working with an Adobe Life Cycle project that sends an email to a designated recipient(s) upon a certain process failure.Yesterday I installed McAfee and as soon as I loaded it up on the development server, I began to get periodic reports that C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_24\bin\java.exe is accused of a port blocking violation and was blocked from send the email.

I placed java.exe into the server AND workstation exception lists but it was ignored and I still got the port blocking violations.

So I entered the full path, C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_24\bin\java.exe and still got blocked.

I specifically turned off that rule and left reporting on and began to recieve "Would be blocked" reports. Turning off AP completely (on the development server exclusively) of course generates no reports.

So I don't know what to think now.....

VSE 8.8.849 P1 etc.

ePO 4.6.1029

• 1. Re: AVSP Policy: Prevent mass mailing worms ignores java.exe exception
          Laszlo G

Hi soviatt, ca nyou post the log where java.exe is shown as blocked by mass-mailing?

• 2. Re: AVSP Policy: Prevent mass mailing worms ignores java.exe exception
            soviatt

2/8/2012          3:27:55 PM          Blocked by port blocking rule           C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_24\bin\java.exe          Anti-virus Standard Protection:Prevent mass mailing worms from sending mail          10.1.63.20:25

2/8/2012          3:29:03 PM          Would be blocked by port blocking rule  (rule is currently not enforced)           C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_24\bin\java.exe          Anti-virus Standard Protection:Prevent mass mailing worms from sending mail          10.1.63.20:25