4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 25, 2012 8:56 AM by keiooz

System Check Virus - McAfee Total Protection No Protection At All

My home PC has been hit with the System Check virus, rendering the computer unusable.   I have been purchasing the Total Protection package for several years and I am somewhat disappointed that McAfee's package did not detect this threat.  As a matter of fact, I used your threat search feature on your website and it did not show up.

The virus has been around for several months based on my web search.

The question is why did the Total Protection package which is updated automatically as well as manually detect this?

• 1. Re: System Check Virus - McAfee Total Protection No Protection At All
          Dinz

Hi Mike,

McAfee's Virus Research team is constantly updating its library of 'known' viruses and spyware.  At the core of McAfee software is something called 'heuristic' protection...which looks for suspect behavior by any program or file.  Even so, the constantly-changing nature of viruses and their different variants makes 100% security impossibility, with any anti-virus software.

Moreover, Infections can sometimes occur silently, by visiting a website containing malicious code.  Other times, a user can allow an infection by installing a program or plug-in, hiding malware within its code.  These programs are often disguised as free search utilities, screensavers or are even labeled as 'critical software updates'.  Even a protected PC can be made vulnerable under these circumstances.

That is why we have a dedicated VIRUS REMOVAL team, staffed with highly specialized technical experts, who can access your system remotely, and clean things up while you watch. This premium Support option is FEE BASED, but we can ensure you that if no infections are found the money is refunded. Please click on Useful links at the top of this page and click on Virus Removal Service .

Regards,