4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 7, 2012 10:34 PM by ikeika

Service Host problem

There are many threads on this, but service host starts running which causes system core to run using up 100% of my CPU.  I can't do anything until it takes a breather and I can get in.  This has been going on for a few months.  I had uninstalled Mcafee because of the problem last year and only recently reinstalled it.  Now there is no uninstall on my controll panel.  I can't get rid of it.  I have a multi subscription and I don't dare put it on any of my other computers.  If someone can point me in the right direction to correct this, I will.  If not, then I'll need to wipe this hard drive clean and reinstall everything except McAfee. 

I have security center version 11.0

build 11.0.649

Virus scan version 15.0

build 15.0.294

Message was edited by: ikeika INFO: I have a scratch built computer ASUS P4P800e-Deluxe motherboard Intel P4 3.2e gig processor Corsair TwinX memory 1 gig x 4 Western Digital hard drives 640 gig x 2 Radeon 2600 Video card Creative Audigy sound card Windows XP SP3 Explorer 8 on 1/12/12 10:00:23 PM CST
        • 1. Re: Service Host problem