3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2012 3:13 AM by Peacekeeper

Rogue anti-viruses

I'm a young computer programmer looking into computer security and I wanted to ask a few questions.

1. Over the past 3 months, ive been hit with 3 various rogue anti-viruses, 1 of which I successfully removed, 1 I had to go to experts, and 1 more im in the process of deleting right now. I've noticed a few particular things that i find interesting about them. One thing is that every time there is a rogue anti-virus attack, I go to the processes list in the Windows Task Manager and find several processes with mirror copies of each other running side by side. My question is, how come anti-virus softwares cant pick this up?

2. When i looked through the processes list during one of the rogue, I noticed an interesting process with a description written exclusively in russian. That is the only process I've ever seen on any of my 3 computers with a description written in russian. After terminating the process tree, the rogue temporarily stopped it's attack long enough for me to access the internet and various other applications. If I alone was able to do this, why can't an anti-virus application figure it out as well?

3. Rogues, trojans, worms and viruses are known to use the dirtiest tricks possible to achieve their result. Why can't an anti-virus be designed to do the same? I've heard of rogues that are able to shut down the system's native anti-virus and embed themselves as deep sometimes as the BIOS system. Why can't an anti-virus be designed to so itself? So that even if the anti-virus is disabled by a rogue, it can restart itself on a dime.