3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 6, 2012 9:10 AM by Regis

Force McAfee agent to download and install VSE

Hello,

We are running EPO 4.6.0 Build 1029 and trying to deploy VSE8.8.0.877 to the network. The agent version is 4.6.0.1694. EPO is running on a Windows 2008 R2 server and we have a Windows 2003 R2 domain controller. The clients are running Windows XP SP 3.

I work in a school and have about 500 computers that I'm trying to deploy VSE 8.8 too and also 460 laptops that are to be given to students to take home; these need VSE 8.8 installed also.

I'm having trouble getting the agent to immediately download and install VSE. I'm deploying the MFEAgent.msi to all the machines via GPO. I'm finding that when I select a random machine to check if it has VSE 8.8, it has the agent installed and it's running, but hasn't attempted to download VSE. When I manually force a policy update, it does get the policy from the server, but then schedules the deploy task to be installed at a later time.

This won't work because we are going to be imaging the laptops in batches of 20 or so, and need the agent (once installed via GPO) to immediately check and download policies from EPO then download VSE. Once they are disconnected and in the hands of the students, some will connect them to the network, others might leave the laptop at home etc so it needs to be done right the first time, otherwise I might not get the chance without manually collecting them all up again.

This also goes for the desktops, they all appear to have downloaded and installed the agent, but even when I send an agent wake up call, in the agent log it appears to be sending PROPS and receiving policies, but isn't actually downloading VSE unless I manually select that computer in EPO and select Actions > Agent > Run Client Task now.

I shouldn't have to do this for every machine, I need it to be completely automatic and the agent forced to gather policies and install VSE immediately.