Skip navigation
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
1665 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Jan 25, 2012 3:54 AM by radiomoskau RSS
radiomoskau Newcomer 11 posts since
Dec 23, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 23, 2011 5:46 AM

Custom Attack Signature for DNS query & response

G'day!

At the moment I'm trying to build a custom signature to match dns queries from and dns requests to a certain network (10.204.5.0/24) on a Sub-Interface dedicated for that network.

Did any of you ever built such signature and could help me with some tips?

Or does anyone have a snort rule which I could use for that?

I tried to find a applicable snort rule but didn't find one that wasn't build for certain domains. As I'm a beginner in writing a signature I'm not confident enough to modify such a snort rule.

edit: I've just tried to build a signature but when I wanted to save it the editor demands me to select a protection category. Trouble is - there are no categories to choose from in the drop down box?!?!

Thanks alot and wish you a merry christmas!!

Greetz

Roman

p.s.:

I'm running NSM v7 and M-3050 sensors

Nachricht geändert durch radiomoskau on 23.12.11 05:46:18 CST
  • dmease729 Champion 267 posts since
    Jul 22, 2011

Hi Roman,

For a basic snort signature such as that, I started with 

alert udp any any -> 192.168.1.0/24 53 (msg:"Incoming DNS request!";sid:9000000;priority:1;),