6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2011 1:48 PM by mtuma

please help with understanding "zones"

armalite

Hi out there,

i'm very new to the sidewinder firewall technology.

I'm trying to understand how to implement an dmz zone for http or ftp behind a sidewinder 8.2 HA Cluster.

Can someone explain the fundamentals for "zones" and how to implement an DMZ Zone or point me to a documentation for this?

many thanks in advance

Andreas

• 1. Re: please help with understanding "zones"
          sliedl

A zone is just a label.  Every interface has one zone set on it (and one zone only).  Multiple interfaces can have the same zone (em1 and em5 could both be labeled as 'internal' interfaces for example).

Let's say you have a set of servers you want to put into a 'dmz.'  These servers plug into a switch and the firewall's interface em3 is plugged into this same switch.  In the Interface configuration for the em3 interface you set the zone to be 'dmz.'  Now this interface has a zone/label of 'dmz.'  Now you can control traffic to and from all the machines off this interface by specifying 'dmz' as the source or destination zone in a rule.  You don't HAVE to specify the destination IPs of these servers in the rule (although you can), you can just say 'Traffic to a 'dmz' (zone) interface is trusted'.

A zone is just a label that is attached to an interface so you can control traffic to and from that interface via the rules.  You want traffic to go from here to there, so in a rule you specify the source zone as 'here' and the destination zone as 'there.'

• 2. Re: please help with understanding "zones"

Just to add onto Sam's great explanation, you typically want to organize devices with similar security requirements in the same zone. As Sam said, you may have some servers in the DMZ zone. You would probably put clients on the internal zone. You could create a third zone for untrusted users (for example guest wireless access), etc.