8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 19, 2011 5:05 PM by exbrit

Popup irritation

The "you need to update your software" popup is causing me to strongly consider dumping this product.  I see where it is impossible to get rid of it, other than uninstalling the software, when McAfee is expired; however, I have a current subscription!  It continues to pop up, and soon I will terminate this software unless I can remedy the problem.  Do you have a solution?

• 1. Re: Popup irritation
          exbrit

What is your version of the product?  Open it and click About.   Is Update turned on?   What operating system and service pack is this?

• 2. Re: Popup irritation

McAfee VirusScan version 15.0, build 15.0.291, last update 12/10/2011, DAT version 6555, Boot DAT version 6551.0000, creation date 12/5/2011, engine version 5400.1158

Automatic update turned ON.

Windows XP Pro, version 5.1.2600, service pack 3, build 2600

I'm beginning to suspect a second version of McAfee, now expired, might be the culprit.  The popup banner has McAfee AntiVirus Plus, while my tray icon and splash page say McAfee Antivirus Plus.  Could this popup be related to a second (expired) version of McAfee lurking on my disk?

• 3. Re: Popup irritation

Sorry, I made a mistake above: my current software is AntiVirus Plus, while the banner on the popup says Purchase McAfee VirusScan Professional.  I think the VirusScan Professional may be expired.

• 4. Re: Popup irritation
                exbrit

Oh my goodness, VirusScan Professional hasn't existed for years.  Any idea when approximately it was installed originally?

This will involve uninstalling everything-McAfee via the Control Panel > Add or Remove Programs after enabling Windows Firewall for protection.

Then run the MCPR cleanup tool (linked under Useful Links at top of this page - if necessary save it to your desktop and reboot to Safe Mode to run it, but only if it fails in regular mode, then discard it as it changes frequently)