Skip navigation
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
This discussion is archived
49209 Views 131 Replies Latest reply: Jun 2, 2012 3:59 PM by Peacekeeper RSS Branched to a new discussion. Go to original post 1 2 3 4 ... 14 Previous Next
  • studiorose Newcomer 8 posts since
    Dec 9, 2011
    Currently Being Moderated
    10. Dec 9, 2011 3:01 PM (in response to jimmymac50)
    Re: Mcafee Service Host Error Windows XP

    I've been having this problem for at least a couple of weeks.  Ran the technician twice, which said everything is fine.  Got online with customer support; they took control of my computer and removed three files, which they said might be causing the problem.  I was told to uninstall and reinstall McAfee if the problem continued.  The problem continued.  I uninstalled and then reinstalled.  It has not solved the problem.  It's irritating because often it freezes or shuts down my browser.

  • Peacekeeper Volunteer Moderator 21,338 posts since
    Nov 23, 2002
    Currently Being Moderated
    11. Dec 10, 2011 2:18 AM (in response to studiorose)
    Re: Mcafee Service Host Error Windows XP

    So I assume no HP cloud software or zumo backup software?

     

    Try disabling netguard this could help and will assist the techs figuring this out.

     

    Also U need to have IE installed and updated as Mcafee accessing IE to run.

     

    Please check what I asked and report back. This strange as  not seeing any errors on my non beta Machines or my family's Pcs


    Tony
    Volunteer Moderator
    Mcafee Total Protection 7.0 beta, Windows 8 64bit
    No Unrequested PMs please
    Do you have an idea for improving McAfee products? Please share it in the new Ideas community space!  NOTE: You must register an account first.

  • studiorose Newcomer 8 posts since
    Dec 9, 2011
    Currently Being Moderated
    12. Dec 10, 2011 10:00 AM (in response to Peacekeeper)
    Re: Mcafee Service Host Error Windows XP

    No HP cloud, no zumo.  I'm using a Dell.  I read where disabling Netguard could help and tried that yesterday.  It seems to have done the trick.  Now that you tell me IE has to be installed, I wonder if switching to Chrome as my default browser a couple weeks ago caused this to happen.  I don't remember it being an issue when I used IE.

     

    Message was edited by: studiorose on 12/10/11 10:00:29 AM CST
  • gatemi Newcomer 17 posts since
    Dec 9, 2011
    Currently Being Moderated
    13. Dec 10, 2011 11:30 AM (in response to Peacekeeper)
    Re: Mcafee Service Host Error Windows XP

    In my case, I do not have any cloud software installed, no zuma back-up, no netguard, or any of that stuff. While I do not use IE as my default browser, I do freelance work as a web programmer, so I do have IE installed and updated in order to make sure that my web stuff works in all the major browsers. Other than updating my browswers and McAfee in recent weeks, nothing on my systems (I'm talking five different computers here) changed prior to getting the error message on a regular basis. I can't understand why McAfee has not heretofore worked on the assumption that the error may be on their end. I mean, people with different systems, different processors, and different software configurations have been reporting this problem, and as far as I can tell, the only common denominators are Windows and McAfee.

  • Peacekeeper Volunteer Moderator 21,338 posts since
    Nov 23, 2002
    Currently Being Moderated
    14. Dec 10, 2011 2:26 PM (in response to gatemi)
    Re: Mcafee Service Host Error Windows XP

    Lisa All you have to have is IE installed not having it as default is not a problem.

    gatemi If you are using Mcafee  you will have netguard it is part of it in the firewall settings unless... you have the 2010 version. Check is your security centre 10.5 or 11?

     

    Message was edited by: Peacekeeper on 11/12/11 6:26:13 AM

    Tony
    Volunteer Moderator
    Mcafee Total Protection 7.0 beta, Windows 8 64bit
    No Unrequested PMs please
    Do you have an idea for improving McAfee products? Please share it in the new Ideas community space!  NOTE: You must register an account first.

  • gatemi Newcomer 17 posts since
    Dec 9, 2011
    Currently Being Moderated
    15. Dec 10, 2011 6:23 PM (in response to Peacekeeper)
    Re: Mcafee Service Host Error Windows XP

    As of this posting, my Security Center is version 11 and Virus Scan is version 15.

     

    I admit, I didn't realize that netguard was a part of McAfee until Lisa pointed it out to me in another message thread. Still, turning off netguard, or any part of the McAfee package, seems to be an extreme measure to solve the recent Host Error issue. I'd rather that McAfee just figure out what's causing the problem and fix it.

     

    Message was edited by: gatemi on 12/10/11 6:23:03 PM CST
  • Peacekeeper Volunteer Moderator 21,338 posts since
    Nov 23, 2002
    Currently Being Moderated
    16. Dec 10, 2011 8:59 PM (in response to gatemi)
    Re: Mcafee Service Host Error Windows XP

    What I was implying was try it and report back that is info I can pass onto Mcafee. then reenable it


    Tony
    Volunteer Moderator
    Mcafee Total Protection 7.0 beta, Windows 8 64bit
    No Unrequested PMs please
    Do you have an idea for improving McAfee products? Please share it in the new Ideas community space!  NOTE: You must register an account first.

  • jimrockford Newcomer 12 posts since
    Dec 8, 2011
    Currently Being Moderated
    17. Dec 13, 2011 1:04 AM (in response to Peacekeeper)
    Re: Mcafee Service Host Error Windows XP

    Hi. I am using McAfee Total Protection.  How do I turn Netguard off?

     

    I am getting the Service Host error several times a day now.  I am using a Dell, XP Home, and keep my programs up to date.  It happens when I use Firefox and when I use IE.

     

    Also, can you tell me what McAfee Service Host does?  No one can provide me an answer.  Thanks.

  • mahabub Newcomer 1 posts since
    Dec 13, 2011
    Currently Being Moderated
    18. Dec 13, 2011 1:09 AM (in response to jimrockford)
    Re: Mcafee Service Host Error Windows XP

    just check the updates and update letaset dat file and now do that

  • Peacekeeper Volunteer Moderator 21,338 posts since
    Nov 23, 2002
    Currently Being Moderated
    19. Dec 13, 2011 3:58 AM (in response to jimrockford)
    Re: Mcafee Service Host Error Windows XP

    Mcsvhost handles most of the programs included in Total Protection. It is an essential part of Mcfaee so any of the components can be causing it.

    To disable Net Guard: compliments of answer7

    1) Open McAfee Security Center

    2) Click on "Web and Email Protection"

    3) Click on "Firewall"

    4) Click "Net Guard"

    5) Uncheck the box beside "Turn on Net Guard"

     

    Mahabub are you implying anything ie you think teh update has a fix it has not.Also the issue is 9%% caused by netguard I feel not viral


    Tony
    Volunteer Moderator
    Mcafee Total Protection 7.0 beta, Windows 8 64bit
    No Unrequested PMs please
    Do you have an idea for improving McAfee products? Please share it in the new Ideas community space!  NOTE: You must register an account first.

1 2 3 4 ... 14 Previous Next

Actions

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Bookmarked By (2)

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 5 points
  • Helpful Answers - 3 points