6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 4, 2011 4:50 AM by JoeBidgood

Distributed Repositories

Hi all, this should be a simple question. I'm relatively new to EPO and am trying to get my head around a few new concepts.

My organisation currently has one EPO server in our corporate network (Network 1), connected to the internet. I'm currently setting up another EPO server in another network (Network 2) which has higher security requirements, is not connected to the internet, and has restricted connectivity to the corporate network.

I haven't found the McAfee documentation particularly clear on the relationships between servers/repositories so I was hoping someone with some experience could clarify the following for me.

I would like to pull updates from the EPO server in Network 1 into the EPO server in Network 2 through a one-way firewall. My question is; is it possible to do this with a Distributed Repository?

• 1. Re: Distributed Repositories
          JoeBidgood

Hi...

Absolutely - this is exactly the correct method for achieving this   What you'll need to do is as follows:

1) On Server 1, configure a distributed repo on a machine that will be accessible from Server 2.

2) CRITICAL - configure this repo so that it will only contain updatable content, like DATs and engines. Whatever you do DO NOT allow this repo to contain any McAfee Agent packages.

3) Export the master repository public key from Server 1 and import it into Server 2.

4) Configure a new source site on Server 2, and point it to the newly-created repository.

That's pretty much it

HTH -

Joe

• 2. Re: Distributed Repositories
            tmckinney