6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2012 2:23 AM by harryr

EventID: 259  unable to connect to filer xyz: -1073741635

Hi all,

I am new to McAfee  and would like to find out if the subcode  -1073741635  could help me to find out what was the reason for  beeing unable to connect to the NetApp Filer.  WINDOWS 2008 R2   VirusScan Enterprise + AntiSpyware 8.7.01

This situation comes up sporately and leads to Access Denied Messages for the files on the NetApp Filer.

Regards harryr

• 1. Re: EventID: 259  unable to connect to filer xyz: -1073741635
          dmcgeary

The NetApp filer could possibly be protected by a VSE for Storage. If the NetApp filer is configured for " Mandatory Scans" if for any reason the requested file is not scanned you will not be able to retrieve it from the filer

• 2. Re: EventID: 259  unable to connect to filer xyz: -1073741635

Hi DMCGEARY,

that is what happend:  users where not able to retrieve files.  I have changed it to off.
            But my question is:  why was McAfeee unable to communicate with the filer ?

I tested  the connection to NetApp Filer  via ping,  DNS resolultion  etc. all looked okay.  So I  hoped the subcode -1073741635  could give me more information about the broken communication.  Was it  network connection at all, was it IP, was it  TCP ?

I have no idea what went wrong.  My only solution is to watch windows event log.

Thanks for your help

harryr

• 3. Re: EventID: 259  unable to connect to filer xyz: -1073741635
              dmcgeary

Your post does not include the actual event log entry, nor does it contain relevant data, such as that Virus Scan for Storage was even installed.

We do not know what version of VSE –Storage you are running the patch level or if you have any Hot Fixes applied. We also do not know the frequency of the issue or correlating events. We have no logs.