Skip navigation
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
4304 Views 12 Replies Latest reply: Oct 4, 2011 7:10 PM by astor RSS 1 2 Previous Next
astor Apprentice 108 posts since
Mar 22, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Oct 3, 2011 8:57 PM

McAfee ScriptScan has been blocked by Firefox

I just had my Firefox browser pop-up a warning message saying McAfee ScriptScan has been blocked for my protection.  More information shows:

Why was it blocked?

    This add-on causes a high volume of crashes.

Who is affected?

    Users of McAfee ScriptScan versions 14.4.0 and below for all versions of Firefox and SeaMonkey.

What does this mean?

    Users are strongly encouraged to disable the problematic add-on or plugin, but may choose to continue using it if they accept the risks described.

 

Hopefully a fix is provided real soon, right

  • Hayton Volunteer Moderator 4,600 posts since
    Sep 27, 2010
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Oct 3, 2011 10:50 PM (in response to astor)
    Re: McAfee ScriptScan has been blocked by Firefox

    Yep, we know. Ex_Brit had it happen about an hour before you posted and emailed to tell us. No idea what's caused it, so there's nothing we can tell you just yet. Maybe we can get some news out of Mozilla but until then we're in the dark too.

     

    Edit - @All : I have FF 7.01 and SA 3.4.0.143 and FF is not giving me the "disable" message. Anyone on a different version of either? Using SA Live, perhaps?

    fwiw this machine has Internet Security 2010 on it - what McAfee product/version have you got?

    (This request-for-info is going into the other FF/SA threads on this issue as well).

     

    Message was edited by: Hayton on 04/10/11 04:50:19 IST

    Volunteer Moderator  Leeds, UK
    No PM's please
  • Ex_Brit Volunteer Moderator 59,571 posts since
    May 6, 2004
    Currently Being Moderated
    2. Oct 4, 2011 6:38 AM (in response to Hayton)
    Re: McAfee ScriptScan has been blocked by Firefox

    Discussion moved to VirusScan to join the other threads on this subject.

     

    In Firefox go to Tools/Manage Add-ons and see if any have a warning sign against them in the Extensions section.

     

    It may not be appearing on your XP machine as perhaps (just a thought) this may be somehow linked to the operating system also.

     

    You mention SA Live, mine is also the Live version of SA but SA has nothing to do with ScriptScan or so I have been told.   Let's not get the two mixed up.

     

    I've emailed our contact at McAfee as you know and Dinz from TS is also getting in on the act.

     


     


     


     


     

    Message was edited by: Ex_Brit on 04/10/11 7:38:45 EDT AM

    https://community.mcafee.com/servlet/JiveServlet/downloadImage/2-143933-5189/78-49/Peter.gif
    Toronto • Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    I can't help you privately - please post in the Forums
    Use Advanced Forum Search To Find Answers
    Beta Test McAfee Products For PC & MAC
    How To Fix File Associations in Windows
    XP & Office 2003 End-Of-Life - 08 April, 2014
    Anti-Spyware/Malware & Hijacker Tools
  • weeshus Newcomer 1 posts since
    Oct 4, 2011
    Currently Being Moderated
    3. Oct 4, 2011 10:20 AM (in response to Ex_Brit)
    Re: McAfee ScriptScan has been blocked by Firefox

    It would seem that the current spate of Firefox updates has more to do with Firefox's self perceived image rather than customer / user needs. The upgrade to Firefox 7.01 automatically disables the Site Advisor.

     

    For wht it is worth I have copied below the justification from the Firefox website.

     

    This add-on causes a high volume of crashes and is incompatible with certain versions of Firefox.

    Users of McAfee SiteAdvisor below version 3.3.1 for Firefox 4 & Users of McAfee SiteAdvisor 3.3.1 and below for Firefox 5 and higher nare affected
    This means that when Mozilla becomes aware of add-ons, plugins, or other third-party software that seriously compromises Firefox security, stability, or performance and meets certain criteria, the software may be blocked from general use. For more information, please read this support article.

          Blocked on May 27, 2011. View block request.

     

    I hope this helps

     

    regards

    weeshus

     

    Message was edited by: weeshus - reason = typo on 10/4/11 10:20:28 AM CDT
  • Ex_Brit Volunteer Moderator 59,571 posts since
    May 6, 2004
    Currently Being Moderated
    4. Oct 4, 2011 10:35 AM (in response to weeshus)
    Re: McAfee ScriptScan has been blocked by Firefox

    Solution: Update SiteAdvisor, which is working fine in Firefox 7.0.1.

     

    ScriptScan is nothing to do with SiteAdvisor but rather VirusScan and this issue has been reported to the VirusScan people who are working on it.


    https://community.mcafee.com/servlet/JiveServlet/downloadImage/2-143933-5189/78-49/Peter.gif
    Toronto • Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    I can't help you privately - please post in the Forums
    Use Advanced Forum Search To Find Answers
    Beta Test McAfee Products For PC & MAC
    How To Fix File Associations in Windows
    XP & Office 2003 End-Of-Life - 08 April, 2014
    Anti-Spyware/Malware & Hijacker Tools
  • Ex_Brit Volunteer Moderator 59,571 posts since
    May 6, 2004
    Currently Being Moderated
    5. Oct 4, 2011 12:42 PM (in response to Ex_Brit)
    Re: McAfee ScriptScan has been blocked by Firefox

    Just got this from McAfee...

     

    I’ve asked Support to push an FAQ out ASAP, but meanwhile:

     

     

    1)    It’s NOT a security issue

     

    2)    It’s a decision made by Mozilla based on crashes that have been reported to Mozilla

     

    3)    McAfee is aware of it, has a bug filed and is working with Mozilla to address the problem

     

    4)    Until it is fixed, the primary workaround is to re-enable the ScriptScanner.  Alternatives include use another browser for now (with most browsers you can import bookmarks and homepages).  Also, SiteAdvisor 3.4 will provide *some* overlapping protection, specifically for scripts run in iFrames on webpages

     


    https://community.mcafee.com/servlet/JiveServlet/downloadImage/2-143933-5189/78-49/Peter.gif
    Toronto • Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    I can't help you privately - please post in the Forums
    Use Advanced Forum Search To Find Answers
    Beta Test McAfee Products For PC & MAC
    How To Fix File Associations in Windows
    XP & Office 2003 End-Of-Life - 08 April, 2014
    Anti-Spyware/Malware & Hijacker Tools
  • Gene Apprentice 53 posts since
    May 9, 2010
    Currently Being Moderated
    6. Oct 4, 2011 6:22 PM (in response to Ex_Brit)
    Re: McAfee ScriptScan has been blocked by Firefox

    When Firefox was updated to version 7, I was asked for the first time during the initial start-up if I would participate in their feedback program which automatically sends info about problems back to Mozilla without user intervention. I accepted, and I suspect that is how Mozilla discovered this problem. In the past they depended on users to report problems, I believe.

  • Ex_Brit Volunteer Moderator 59,571 posts since
    May 6, 2004
    Currently Being Moderated
    8. Oct 4, 2011 6:40 PM (in response to astor)
    Re: McAfee ScriptScan has been blocked by Firefox

    In this particular instance, I think the blame isn't McAfee's.  Firefox have entered a rapid-fire update period lately which has disabled all kinds of add-ons, extensions and plug-ins.


    https://community.mcafee.com/servlet/JiveServlet/downloadImage/2-143933-5189/78-49/Peter.gif
    Toronto • Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    I can't help you privately - please post in the Forums
    Use Advanced Forum Search To Find Answers
    Beta Test McAfee Products For PC & MAC
    How To Fix File Associations in Windows
    XP & Office 2003 End-Of-Life - 08 April, 2014
    Anti-Spyware/Malware & Hijacker Tools
1 2 Previous Next

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Bookmarked By (0)

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 5 points
  • Helpful Answers - 3 points