4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2011 1:49 AM by jennan32za

Disabling VSE 8.8 when it is locked up tight by sys admin - help please?

Hey guys

Hoping somone can give me a hand here. I i'm a student at a state-run hospital in .za and the machines here are all managed by the hospital's IT department. Our division runs all the usual software required to post data and patient results to the wards, as well as some proprietary software for our research arm which has nothing to do with the official hospital applications. In terms of having our proprietary software on a machine on the hospital's infrastructure, we have to conform to their IT standards which basically means they manage deployment of McAfee and run our Novell server system, which is usually fine by us.

Last week, our proprietary stuff started misbehaving. The developers have remoted in to have a look around to see if they can fix things, but thus far no luck. Somene has suggested disabling McAfee to see if the conflict is there, perhaps with the current or previous sdat.

McAfee is deployed by ePO here and I can't make any changes to it. Of course, the hospital IT department do not want to shut it off since it represents a risk to the network; in order to get this done we need to get a whole lot of red tape sorted out. I understand all that and why the policy is in place, but at the moment we're hamstrung and have been for the last 8 days and hospital IT do not want to authorise what we need to do. All I need is to work out how to edit the settings in McAfee to allow me to temporarily suspend McShield and the task manager to see if this is the problem. Currently, the lab has 5 analytical machines totalling literally millions of dollars sitting dormant because we can't get into their computer systems efficiently - everything is taking 10-15x longer than usual to respond and the systems time out, and my boss is having a heart attack over the whole thing.