3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 23, 2011 8:39 AM by aliene

How to turn on McAfee Security Centre?

Hello!

I have been using McAfee Security Centre for the past two years. The product has come along with a DELL laptop as a 15 month subscription and later renewed for another three years after the expiry of initial subscription. My OS is Windows 7 Home Premium - 64 bit. I use Google Chrome browser [13.0.782.112 m]

For the past few days, Security Centre is not working. There is an action centre message saying "Anti-Virus and Anti-Spyware reports that it is turned off". When try to turn on this, the product don't respond at all. Also when try to open the navigation window, it comes as a blank page with message " Navigation to the web page was cancelled" under that message it suggests, "try refreshing the page", but there are no menu/options available for refreshing the page, no buttons (minimise/close etc..) are visible for the browser window.

Tried uninstalling the product using controll panel, but there also, but the "remove" button is inactive and hence can't proceed further. Can someone help me fix the above issues or to remove and re-install the product.

• 1. Re: How to turn on McAfee Security Centre?
          Dinz

Hi kayyala,

Antivirus and Antispyware  Could you please let us know if you are referring to the Home version of Mcafee Programs or if its the small medium business or enterprise versions ?

Can you post us with a screen shot of your security center with the error 

Thanks,

• 2. Re: How to turn on McAfee Security Centre?

Hi Dinesh,

I assume it is the home version as it  was purchased along with my DELL Laptop. My McAfee account descibes the product as " McAfee SecurityCenter  Developed specifically for your Dell PC". Anti-Virus, Anti-Spyware, Firewall, Online Security are the key features that I have noted with this product.