7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 7, 2011 3:59 PM by Peacekeeper

McSvHost.exe spiking CPU

Hi, so I've been using mcafee total protection for about 3 years now, and in the past few weeks I've noticed McSvHost.exe randomly spiking (I've seen up to 85% cpu usage, only firefox open) for about a second or two and causing my audio to crackle. Unfortunately I don't know whats causing it and its seemingly random, but it doesn't seem to be causing my computer any damage. at least not that I can tell. I've only noticed it if I have music playing. I don't know why or how this is happening but I'd like to get this fixed, before something else goes wrong.

I don't know too much about computers I'll tell you what I know.

Computer is 3 months

McAfee Total Protection. Security Center build: 11.0.572, VirusScan build: 15.0.291, Personal Firewall build: 12.0.338

Windows 7 64-bit

AMD athlon II X4 640 processor @ 3.00 Ghz

Edit: also, my computer is an HP, model p6754y and I don't have any hp printer driver software installed.

I also have this Screenshot attached red circle shows the spike, reaching 47% cpu. It only lasted for about a second.

Message was edited by: rdragon on 7/29/11 11:08:32 PM CDT

Message was edited by: rdragon on 7/29/11 11:54:17 PM CDT

Message was edited by: rdragon on 7/29/11 11:59:46 PM CDT
        • 1. Re: McSvHost.exe spiking CPU
          Peacekeeper

Good to see you did a search. yes I would have thought it was the Hp mopier printer draivers/suite but you said you do not have 1 do you have any printe drivers installed?

Just wondering as might be a common issue. I will point Somer here as she is doing the hard yards trying to get data on the HP mopier issue and she might know something I do not. One thing is as you have a new HP have you got the hp cloud software installed? This causes mcsvhost errors and it might be a good test to uninstall this and see if the spikes stop.

Pinged somer though it is the weekend there

• 2. Re: McSvHost.exe spiking CPU