Skip navigation
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
3367 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Jul 30, 2011 9:54 PM by bgavin RSS
bgavin Newcomer 4 posts since
Jul 24, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 24, 2011 2:11 PM

How-To Disable Scheduled AutoUpdate by Switch or Script

I am an admin in a large environment that has no public interface.

An EPO console is not in our immediate future.

Q: is there a script method, command line switch, or other process to disable scheduled auto-updates?

This is the audit point.  The value cannot be changed while the service "McShield" is running.

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\McAfee\DesktopProtection\Tasks\{A14CD6FC-3BA8-4703- 87BF-E3247CE382F5}]

"bSchedEnabled"=dword:00000001

The McShield service cannot be stopped when the "Prevent McAfee services from being stopped" box is checked.

I chased the rabbit down the hole and find mcconsol.exe is changing a few keys during the check/uncheck process.

A real-time trace reveals the keys, but manual setting of these keys is still disallowed.

There is a yet-undiscovered mechanism protecting the registry keys.

In short, the system is working as designed, but I also need a scripted method of disabling autoupdates.

Logging into a thousand boxes for a onsey-twosy change of every server isn't viable.

Rebooting is not viable... production environment.

I'm looking for a switch similar to:

McUpdate.exe /task {A14CD6FC-3BA8-4703-87BF-E3247CE382F5}  /disable

Does anybody know if this exists?

Message was edited by: bgavin Edited title for clarity on 7/24/11 2:11:47 PM CDT
  • Attila Polinger Veteran 1,161 posts since
    Dec 8, 2009

Hello,