5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 27, 2015 7:12 AM by catdaddy

Need help with possible Artemis trojan infections

Greetings, everyone!

I am a complete newbie at posting on here so please forgive me in advance if I don't provide all the info needed, as I'm not even sure what that is.    Anyway, my problems started 2 days ago.  I was on a "safe" site that I visit on a daily basis when I got a pop-up from McAfee stating something to the effect of that it had detected something regarding outbound connections (again, I apologize, as I know this is totally vague but it has never happened to me before and it occurred very quickly) I was confused to say the least and attempted to click for McAfee to block, however, my computer completely froze and my monitor went black.  I could not get the computer to respond at all, so I had to end up unplugging it and then plugging it back in.  At this point, I attempted to start the computer in normal mode and Windows crashed again and I recieved a message about a hard drive failure and that System Restore was going to attempt to restore my computer to a point when it was working properly.  After that, Windows did begin to run again and I immediately ran a McAfee full system scan.  By the way, I am running Verizon Security Suite powered by McAfee on my computer.  When the scan was complete, McAfee said that it had found the trojan Artemis!F9A0D701FD2C and quarantined it.  I was still nervous so I went to Microsoft.com and ran their free virus scan which came back clean.  After that I ran another full system scan with McAfee, which also came back clean.  However, yesterday morning I decided to run one more scan to be safe and again, McAfee reported that it had found and quarantined Artemis!44ADE55E2F2D.  Afterwards, I went in and deleted both files from quarantine ( I realize now that I should have probably sent them to McAfee).  I've been reading a lot of the discussions on here and I'm wondering if these are malicious or false positives