1 2 Previous Next 13 Replies Latest reply on May 29, 2011 8:13 PM by newjack

Malware protection

Hello,

I am having a problem with my pc. I have a security warning on my computer that a malicious program has been detected. I have mcafee Internet security and have done a full scan which detected no issues. I am not able to open anything on my pc. The message I get is that I am infected with w32/blaster.worm and it takes me to a malware protection site which costs $59.95/year. I am not very good with computers so am not sure if this is a scam or what to do next as I can't do anything on my pc (I have written this on my phone). Can anyone help?

• 1. Re: Malware protection
          Jayadeep NR

Let me know the Operating System and Service Pack installed on that computer.

It seems your computer is infected with fake anti-virus infection. You may run the McAfee Stinger and Mbam and they may help you to remove infection.

Run MCPR tool , restart thecomputer and re-install McAfee from McAfee account.

on 29/5/11 4:40:28 PM IST
          • 2. Re: Malware protection
            k3tg

This document from McAfee will assist you in resolving your issue

Anti-Spyware, Malware & Hijacker Tools

Good Luck

• 3. Re: Malware protection
              Peter M

Hi,

Moved this to Malware Discussion > Home User Assistance.

With an up to date machine Blaster should not even take hold, what operating system and service pack have you got on it?

I suspect instead it's one of the many fake antimalware applcations that's floating around which bypass most antivirus applications.

If you can't boot then try booting into Safe Mode with Networking (number 2 on the menu you will see after tapping F8 repeatedly while booting up)

1st thing to try is to see if you can use System Restore to go back to before all this started happening.   It's found under Start/All Programs/Accessories (in Vista and Windows 7 look for System Tools).