1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on May 2, 2016 10:32 AM by Troja

VirusScan Enterprise for Storage on NetApp

lfah2000

Hi,

I am looking for information about virusscan for storage. We are planning to use NetApp with McAfee and I have questions about the sizing for this.

I have seen this thread (https://community.mcafee.com/message/154876#154876).

What is the number of scanning servers related to NetApp devices?

I have seen the NetApp Antivirus Scanning Best Practices Guide but still have questions.

(PS. I am new to NetApp.)

• 1. Re: VirusScan Enterprise for Storage on NetApp
          Terje

We have one netapp device and we have two scanning servers, the netapp device uses both scannings server at the same time and if one of the scanning servers go down then your files will still be scanned so it good to have a minimum of two scanning servers.

I think the amount of scanning servers depend on how much load there are on the netapp device(s) / how many users who read/write to the netapp device at the same time.

I also didnt know how many scanning servers i needed so before we bought the license for VSE for storage to netapp

we got a test version (which actually was the full licensed version hehe) from our software vendor and we tested it on our NetApp production environment (hehe) and found out that 2 scanning servers was enough for our environment

so we added two VSE for storage licenses to our campus agreement with our software vendor.

we have used this for almost a year and we still have two scanning servers with 3000+ users connected to the netapp device

I hope this can guide you to the right decision for your environment..

• 2. Re: VirusScan Enterprise for Storage on NetApp

Hello guys, that is usefull information for me too. I was wondering how to size scanning servers. We will go with test environment first.