3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2011 10:09 AM by whgibbo

Endpoint Encryption - complete removal

When testing Endpoint Encryption, we encrypted some machines which we ultimately do not wish to leave encrypted.

While we've successfully removed the encryption by adding them to a group with a "decrypt" policy, (and have uninstalled the ePO agent) it's not obvious how to remove the funky modified boot loader.

So.. here I sit with 3 completely unencrypted drives which still have the McAfee Endpoint Encryption boot loader.  Everything I've found online refers to special magic boot disks and all sorts of restore/recover procedures to restore the boot sector.  I have a difficult time believing it has to be that complicated.

What is the simplest way to let these now-unencrypted machines boot like they used to?

Sorry if I sound like an idiot - I'm pretty new to this product.

-Charles

Message was edited by: cr0100 on 4/27/11 3:47:48 PM CDT
        • 1. Re: Endpoint Encryption - complete removal
          whgibbo

Hi,
          Firstly could you please clarify what version of EEPC you are testing (6.1 or 6.0.x) ?

To completely remove the EEPC from your test machines you would need to do the following:

• Assign an Endpoint Encryption Product policy to the client that has 'Enable Policy' unchecked.
          • Wait for the policy enforcement to complete on the client.  Once this has finished, it  will remove the Pre-Boot Authentication (PBA)
          • Create a client task to remove the following:
            • Endpoint Encryption for PC Software
            • Endpoint Encryption Agent for Windows
          • Then optionally remove the McAfee Agent.

Just decrypting the disk will not remove the Pre-Boot Authentication.

Hope this helps

• 2. Re: Endpoint Encryption - complete removal

The trick was creating/assigning a policy with the status as "not enabled".  That was kind of... odd.

Then it all worked, I got the prompt to reboot and the loader was not there.