7 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2011 5:36 AM by Hayton

Web Referrer Blocking

Does anyone know how to configure SecurityCenter to stop referrer information from being sent when I browse the internet?  I am new to the McAfee product line and I've had a hard time finding information on how to do this from within the software.  According to a McAfee tech support agent, SecurityCenter does not have this capability, but I'm hesitant to take the agent's word on this since I actually had to explain to him what an HTTP referrer header was and how it could be a privacy concern for users.  Plus, other internet security programs I've used (e.g., Symantec, Norton, ZoneAlarm) do have this feature, so I'd be surprised if there isn't some way to configure Mcafee's software to block referrer sending.

Relevant software information is listed below if it helps. I would appreciate any assistance with this.

McAfee SecurityCenter version 10.5 (with McAfee Personal Firewall version 11.5)

Windows 7 64-bit OS

• 1. Re: Web Referrer Blocking
          Dinz

Hi isla_verde,

The difference between an attack and harmless traffic can be subtle. As our users, we expect ypu to tell us what they find 'in the wild', we keep track of happenings and trends and update our site content. Are you referring to this feature to which you do not want McAfee to report back ????

Regards,

• 2. Re: Web Referrer Blocking
            Hayton

For anyone who doesn't know what this post is about, the links below are a useful introduction.

Norton does indeed let you withhold the referer information, and other AV companies may provide the same facility. If McAfee allows this then I haven't seen it in my version of the product. If I expected to see the option anywhere it would probably be in the Enterprise editions for corporate users, which tend to be more feature-rich than the consumer editions. You'll need a tech person to give you a definitive answer.

Links :

http://www.world-mysteries.com/firewalls.htm