9 Replies Latest reply on Mar 4, 2011 7:57 AM by TonyK

False Positive Artemis!9AA35446455B

Artemis!9AA35446455B is detecting combofix.exe as malware.  this is a false Positive.

• 1. Re: False Positive Artemis!9AA35446455B
          ConorD62

Hi,

Unless you are instructed by an Malware Expert, you should not be running ComboFix,

Most experts tell you to disable your Anti Virus, because it will detect ComboFix, because it is a very powerful tool.

Thanks.

• 2. False Positive Artemis!9AA35446455B

I'm quite aware of combofix's ability, and yes I am a expert in the field.  I understand it's ability, but it's not a trojan as McAfee is detecting it as, so this needs to be resloved by avert.

TK

• 3. Re: False Positive Artemis!9AA35446455B
              Vinod R

Dear TonyK,

Since you are an expert . You would have already know why this is triggering a detection. Combofix is a very advanced tool that in its codes use many scirpts and commands -- (not going into those details for obvious reasons) - as ConorD62 indicated there is a very proper disclaimer made for this tool stating that it might be detected as a malware by anti-virus softwares.

Combofix is NOT a software or a usual .exe file and it keeps getting updated frequently. ( meaning it could change as soon as someone flags it as a clean source)---

The detection is due to the way the tool makes changes to the computer- many of which are similiar to what a malware does.

edited words on 4/3/11 2:13:52 AM IST
              • 4. False Positive Artemis!9AA35446455B

Again, I understand what Combofix is capable of.  Not sure what "combifix is not a software" means, but it is an .exe and the .exe is what Artemis detects as a trojan and this is an INCORRECT DETECTION.  It's NOT a trojan, therefore false positive.  This is a very simple concept.  the binariey  should not be detected as a trojan.