3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2011 2:24 PM by Peacekeeper

Network Definition - Don't understand the terminology

My subject pretty well outlines that I am a novice as regards to McAfee and home networking. I recently added a 2nd PC and wish to have printer sharing operational. I have been able to get the definitions to work when I turn off the firewalls on both systems. I think I have the MS firewall active on both systems and I am able to remotely print on the printer. Here is what I have.

I have an XP system with a locally attached HP printer. The XP is also cabled to a router I have which supplies the household wireless networking and an attachment to the DSL connection. The wireless was originally for the XP system which is a laptop. The 2nd system is a Win7 system which has a wireless adapter.   Every time I attempt to turn on the McAfee firewall, it kills the print sharing support and the ability for the 2 systems to see each other.

I think what I need is a reference that will explain (in a very detailed way) how to setup the network support for my home network. Where do I start? I am not a newby as regards to technology in general but am only conceptually knowledgeable when it comes to networking terminology and configuration. I can't believe it is so difficult to define when I have it working already.    

• 1. Network Definition - Don't understand the terminology
          Peacekeeper

Best to read to posts in More like this box on the right of this page 1 there might help

https://community.mcafee.com/message/89433#89433

Also have a look in the  Firewall program permissions and see if it is blocking the spooler?

I assume all works fine if the firewall is off?

Also you mentioned windows firewall are both on they should be off on the mcafee installed PC.

• 2. Re: Network Definition - Don't understand the terminology

Can't explain for certain but here is my current status (resolved!):