1 2 Previous Next 11 Replies Latest reply on May 31, 2012 3:06 AM by Pritish

Saas Agent Service Error

I have recently installed Saas in our office, I have a few computers displaying an error on Mcafee icon in the system tray - Agent service is not running

When I open the consol, in the section 'Security centre communication' - Error The last Mcafee agent update failed.

When I click on the Update Now option in the system tray I get the following message -   Unable to create cab installer object, Agent service may not be running properly.

I have removed the software and done a full re-install

When I log in as an administrator I have no problem, but the users do have local administrator rights on the computers.

I checked to make sure all the Mcafee services have started and are running correctly.

Users have working internet connection

Please see attached error messages

Any advise would be greatly appreciated!

• 1. Re: Saas Agent Service Error
          Pritish

Hi,

I have read your post.

I understand that you get Cannot create cab installer message when you install the McAfee software.

The issue that you are facing is due to the fact that McAfee when trying to get installed as a fresh installation or when installing the updates will look for the some cab files which are a part of the Windows operating system and if they do not find them you get this error.

To resolve the issue that you are facing you need to first run the command that is given below.

Step 1: Click on Start -> Run -> cmd -> in the command prompt please type in the following command

C:\sc delete myagtsvc

After you get the confirmation, please reboot the computer.

After you have rebooted the computer you need to uninstall the McAfee software from the computers and then first run a windows update and the reinstall the McAfee software.

Please follow the steps below.

1. Log on to the security center from www.mcafeeasap.com