4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 13, 2011 5:30 PM by jsherouse

Full Time McAfee Employee Duties?

Hi Guys,

I am new to McAfee products, as until this year I have been a SCCM admin.  I am rolling out a 12 month project within my company to deploy McAfee encryption products.  Currently we do not have a dedicated McAfee admin, as our last one left at the end of 2010.  As part of this 12 month project i need to justify to upper management the need for one full time employee to administer the McAfee environment.  What I dont really know is what kind of tasks will be undertaken by a McAfee Admin on a daily/weekly/monthly basis which would require 40 hours a week effort?

Our environment has 5500 machines, EPO 4.5, Virus Scan 8.7, HIPS (only the firewall part of this is enabled so far, nothing else), and within a few months we will have EEPC, HDLP and EEFF up and running, encrypting all harddrives, and external usb media.  At this stage we are not touching email, and DVD/s.  We are not touching Network shares at this stage either.  And McAfee is not doing our Web filtering.

So can I please ask for some daily/weekly monthly tasks an EPO admin would normally carry out?  How often do the servers and workstations need to be patched?  What kind of support effort is usually required to maintain a 5000 strong domain?

Thanks, Any suggestions would be welcome

Cheers, Sando75.

• 1. Re: Full Time McAfee Employee Duties?
          joeleisenlipz

I work for a McAfee Professional Services partner. In my travels I have seen a huge variety of staffing levels.

First, it would be helpful to define the scope of responsiblities: architecture/design, implementation, functional testing, performance testing, user support, application/server/database maintenance, policy creation, reporting, compliance, incident response, remediation.... you get the point.