1 2 3 Previous Next 21 Replies Latest reply on Jan 21, 2011 12:50 PM by peter_eepc

ERROR: 0xe005001.  Endpoint Encryption for PC is not installed

Hello All,

I'm a new tech at a large company and am just getting familiar with SB/EEPC.

We are running the following versions:

sbadmin.exe, 5, 1, 2, 0, September 14, 2007 11:10:00, 1572864, SafeBoot Administrator, SafeBoot Security System, 5, 1, 2, 0
      SbAdminLib.dll, 5, 1, 2, 0, September 14, 2007 11:08:16, 765952, SafeBoot Admin Library, SafeBoot Security System, 5, 1, 2, 0
      SbAlgs\SBALG.DLL, 4, 2, 11, 0, July 16, 2007 12:32:56, 127036, SafeBoot FIPS AES (256 bit), SafeBoot Security System, 4, 2, 11, 0

I currently have a user whose laptop is booting to "ERROR: 0xe005001.  Endpoint Encryption for PC is not installed" message.

I have read several other discussions about this problem or others like it and just wanted to confirm what i've done and next steps.

I'VE DONE SUCCESSFULLY:

1.  Boot from Wintech 5.1.0.1 CD

2.  Authorize with COD

3.  Authenticate from SDB

4.  Load Sector 63 into Workspace

5.  Decrypt Workspace and see "NTLDR is missing..."  confirming correct SDB

6.  Mount Drives C and F - my user has business data they're trying to recover.

NO SUCCESS:

7.  Run A43 util and try to see data - no luck.

8.  No option to Repair SB/EEPC MBR.  If I try to uninstall SB, I get an error that it's not installed.

I don't quite understand what I'm seeing in the DiskInfo screenshots i've included.  The machine has 3 partitions on it.  Disregard Logical Disk 1 aka "D" as it's my external USB drive I stored the SDB on and would normally backup user data to.  But what are these Win95 LBA partitions that are listed?  Partitions 0, 2 and 4 are the correct ones, C, E and F respectively.