3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 20, 2011 3:02 PM by Dinz

Security Center will not Close

Hope some one can help:

I have a subscription to Virus Scan Plus via Dell.  The sub has five licenses.  Four laptops and a desktop.  Two of the laptops are IBM Thinkpads.  One is a T42 and the other is a T40.  The problem has occured on the T40.  Whenever you open Security Center for an update or manual scan, the Security Center window will not close.  Each time the window is closed with the "X" in the upper right, the window immediately reopens.  The probblem began when my daughter swapped hard drives in the two IBM machines.  The T42 LCD display died and she needed some data from it.  She thought she could simply swap the hard drives and and retrieve her data.  After struggling with different drivers and such she decided to return the hard drives.

From that time on, Mcafee has presented this problem.  I have uninstalled and reinstalled Mcafee multiple times.  I have used the removal tool.  I have scanned the machine with Malwarebytes thinking/hoping there was a hidden problem I had not found.  All to no avail.  I have scanned the machine with Mcafee Virtual Technician.  Got a "All OK" response.  Had a chat session with a Mcafee technician who was sure a reinstall was all that was needed.  He/She performed a remote removal/reinstall.  Still the window would not close.  I have deactivated licenses and performed reinstalls.  Again I come up with bupkus.

Been a Mcafee fan up till now and all seems good with my other machines, but currently at my wits end with this problem.  Thanks for any input

• 1. Re: Security Center will not Close
          k3tg

I wonder if the McAfee tecnician ran the preinstall tool during the remote session that occurred? Since we do not know for sure would you mind trying it?