1 2 Previous Next 12 Replies Latest reply on Jan 3, 2011 10:32 AM by myx59

McAfee Security Center is gone

Hello,

I'm a newbie, and maybe I'm posting in the wrong place. Also forgive me my poor English. Now, what is my problem ? I had some malware on my laptop, and I got some help from a support site, using HiJackThis logs. I had to delete an item named delayed shred McAfee....That did not work, so I decided to try turning off all McAfee services. Still did not work. Vista gave me a notification that my Anti Virus wasn't working anymore, so I activated all services again, but now my security center is gone. I got McAfee Antivirus Plus, but no longer the Security Center, which I was used to. Is this normal ? I tried to find out what was wrong by using McAfee Virtual Technician, but that service lets me know they can't find any McAfee products on my laptop. But I have them installed. So, how do I get my old security center back ?

I'm using a Dell Vostro 1000, I run Windows Vista and my McAfee was downloaded, I have no disk, I got it through my employer, a Belgian Bank, KBC. So guys :HELP

PS : my latest session id from MVT was 29687569

• 1. Re: McAfee Security Center is gone
          Dinz

Hi oomlen,

Could you please let me know the following details;

How did you get McAfee programs installed ? From any weblink / cd ?

Click on Navigation >> Click on About and let me know the Affid (below security center)

Regards,

Dinesh K

McAfee Online Community Moderator

• 2. Re: McAfee Security Center is gone

I had to send a mail to get McAfee, using my work Email adress, and they send me a link with a password, which I could use at home to get McAfee installed at home. My employer, one of Europe's main banks is offering us McAfee to use at home for free, coz we use it at work too. I am not using an English version of McAfee, but the Dutch one. When I click navigation I see no About, only Info, and when I click that one I get

the following :

McAfee Security Center