8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 26, 2010 1:52 PM by pblanc12

Help!  Christmas virus

I opened my laptop and discovered it was overtaken by some bug controlling my desktop.  It wants me to submit credit card info in return for software fix. I thought I was protected by McAfee!!!! I'm writing this from my wife's Mac.  Help!  I'm not a computer expert.

• 1. Re: Help!  Christmas virus

Hi,

Could you please let me know the following information...

1. Name of the virus  (Ex: Security tool,Anti virus 2011, etc......).

2.   Check the DAT Version of virus scan.

To check the DAT version In McAfee windows Click -> Navigation(In Top Right hand Side) -> About (In left hand side).

Underneath the Virus Scan you can see DAT version.

3.  And have you run scan in McAfee ?.

• 2. Re: Help!  Christmas virus

thanks for your quick response.  A new file "system tools" is on my desktop and I noticed the following code in one of the files "Lasas,Blaster, Key logger".   Again i'm not techy savvy about this stuff. I noticed someone yesterday suggested a download fix to be used by opening computer in "safe mode" but it wouldn't execute.

• 3. Re: Help!  Christmas virus
              k3tg

Required Reading - Home User Assistance Malware Troubleshooting