1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 4, 2011 5:22 PM by Aldrin

General question regarding difference between Home and Work networks

I am new to McAfee and have a general question regarding employment of "Home" and "Work" networks: What is the difference?

There seems to be very little documentation on this issue so I'll post here. We have 7 computers all on a single subnet LAN and all are running McAfee. The LAN is connected to the internet via a Netgear Firewall/Router and a cable modem. This LAN is in my home. Whenever we take a machine out of the building its only to access a "public" network such as the Library or Starbucks.

How do I decide is these are "home" or "work" computers? Does it make a difference for us?

From what I can deduce a "work" network is a LAN that you use at your office during the day (MF,9-5, for example) and that a "home" network is the one in your house that you might use if you had a laptop at "work" and brought it "home." Then the theory is that at "work" I have one set of security criteria and at "home" I have another. Assuming that the above definition is correct then In my case there is no difference between "home" and "work" -- hence my confusion.

I suspect that in my case it does not matter if I set them up as "home" or "work" but I need to be consistent in that they are all either home or work, but not mixed.

So, do I really understand this and am just being a wuss or are there more subtle considerations?

Comments about and/or verfication of my theory would be appreciated!

TB

• 1. Re: General question regarding difference between Home and Work networks

Hi TallBob,