1 2 3 Previous Next 21 Replies Latest reply on Dec 7, 2010 5:06 AM by splash

virus scan 8.7 sp 4 roll out

Hi

I apologise now as im a bit of newbie when it comes to McAfee ePO and Virus scan environment. We recently had to upgrade our ePO from 3.6 to 4.5 (in the end we did a clean install as there was a problem with the original server). All our clients have now had the new agent rolled out to them and after what i thought was a successful testing phase i have now rolled out virus scan 8.7 sp3 to the vast majority of our machines!

Shortly after rolling it out a few users were complaining their machines (all running XP sp2 or 3) would hang and freeze and become unusable. I looked into it and saw that it was either engineserver.exe or the daily updates killing the processor. After looking on here i saw a lot of people suggested virus scan 8.7 sp4 would help. So I downloaded it and manually installed it on a handful of machines that previously had sp 3 (had to uninstall the McAfee VirusScan Enterprise before i could put sp 4 on) and this has seemed to have cured the slowness!

So what i would like to do now is roll out sp 4 to all the other clients in the same way i did previously, through a Client Task in the System Tree. I’ve created a new subgroup to separate this from the others but neither client task that i have created, either a product deployment or a product update, has worked!

Any suggestions on how i could get sp 4 to be rolled to the company via the ePo server as I've been playing about with this for a week now and can’t get it to auto update from sp3 to sp4.

I would like to point out, If i did an update from virus scan 8 or 8.5 it will install 8.7 sp 4 on no problem, it just won’t upgrade from sp 3 to 4

Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: virus scan 8.7 sp 4 roll out