2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 25, 2010 4:29 PM by rokkitt

EPO Policies

Hi,

Firstly I am totally new to McAfee so please be gentle with me...:)

I have inherited an EPO Server and I need to get my head around the system, after reading much documentation one question remains unanswered; when should I use different policies eg.."On access default processes" "on access general" "on access high risk" and "on access low risk"

For example I have some recommended A/V file exclusions for specific servers and I am unsure which of these policies to place the file exclusions into - is there a general rule for this??

Let's take SQL exclusions for instance - I would initially place them into the "on access default" but this is purely a guess.

My apologies if this has been covered in the past but I have been unable to find anything.

Regards

Rod

• 1. Re: EPO Policies

Hi.

On access General is what it sounds like. This will set general settings that will be valid for the Default, High risk and Low risk policies.

Low risk is in general used for specifying scan setting for processes that you are pretty sure will not be handling virus infected files. I set it to not scan anything. (Allthough the exe file of the process itself is scanned once at each startup)

This will have the effect that every process that you add to this policy will not scan the files it is using.

High risk is used for specifying the processes that you are reasonably sure have a high risk of accessing virus infected files. In general the scan settings here should be at default or higher protection. This policy is pre-populated with some risky processes already by Mcafee.

Default is what it sounds like as well :-) It is basically the processes that are not defined in either high risk or low risk. This is where a lot of your 3rd party programs will appear by default. Including SQL.