4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 9, 2010 9:07 PM by tmckinney

ePO 4.5 can't work on Windows SBS 2003R2 premium

I am an administrator of a small-business local area network. The domain controller is a Dell PowerEdge 2600, 1GB RAM  and is loaded with Windows SBS 2003R2 premium and McAfee EPo 4.5. Then I did the following in that order:

(1) Using SystemTree of EPo 4.5 I selected  38 pcs (37 clients and the the domain controller).

(2) I went to each client and I manually installed from a CD VirusScan 8.7i and McAfee Agent 4.5 from FrmPkg.exe.

(3) All PCs in SystemTree are marked "unmanaged" even after cmdagent /p is exected from each client and epo server..

When EPo was installed,   the following three ports were entered (default ports were not accepted by EPo):

(a) Agent-to-Server communication port: 54321

(b) Agent Wake-Up communication port: 54322

(c) Agent Broadcast communication port: 54323

Other ports were the default ones.

I suspect that the ISA server 2004 is blocking communication between the  clients and the epo server.  Please tell me how I can configure the epo  server.  Thank you in advance for your cooperation.

• 1. Re: ePO 4.5 can't work on Windows SBS 2003R2 premium
          tmckinney

If you suspect a port is being blocked, you can test the port by telnetting to the port on the remote machine.  For example, you can open a command prompt (start...run...cmd) on a workstation and type "telnet <machine-name-or-ip-address> <port#>"... like "telnet 192.168.0.51 54321".  If the workstation is Vista or Win7, though, telnet may not be installed by default, but may be installed in Programs and Features in the control panel.

If the connection times out, it could be (1) the destination machine is not listening on that port, or (2) the port is being blocked.

If your window changes to a blank window, the connection was successful.  You'll probably have to close the command prompt window manually.