3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 29, 2010 9:01 PM by montedude1981

Still can not access mcafee website, download page or chat...getting HTTP error

Hello.  I have been using Mcafee virus protection for about 1 1/2 years without problem.  About 2 months ago, my mcafee started to pop up and tell me there was a problem downloading updates.  I would manually try to update my mcafee, and it would act like it was getting information from the website, but would time out saying it could not update because of a problem (possibly my internet connection)...try again later...same thing would happen every time I tried to update.  I would try to go on the mcafee website and get support, but for some reason, i could not access the website unless I added an "s" to the http in front of the mcafee web address then I could only get to a few pages like account log in and support.

Another problem I am having is if I do a search for mcafee on yahoo, google or msn I click on the first listing and I am directed to either a website that "no longer exists" or a norton's product page.

After reading the forums on this site, I thought an uninstall/reinstall should do the trick.  No luck...after uninstalling it, I couldn't even get to the download screen.  I was able to download the most recent version of the "stinger" and ran this tool 3 times only to have it lock up on a file called "000000db.js" all 3 times.  I've tried the "notepad %window%\system32\....etc." to check the host listings, but it is clear.  I have also reset my internet using the command prompt.

Using a different computer, I was able to access mcafee chat support...the first time, the tech told me to update my windows XP with microsoft and the problem will go away.  I am completely up to date and still having this problem.  I again contacted tech support via chat and was told to download a mcafee removal tool and try to reinstall after that.  I did this, but still not able to access the site.