4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2010 2:31 PM by caseymnpc

Manual Scans

I'm pretty new to the McAfee way of doing things.  The ePO is really nice but I'm having trouble figuring how to do some simple tasks.  Maybe this is a dumb question but how do I run a manual scan on a machine from the ePolicy Orchestrator 4.5?

Thanks,

Casey

• 1. Re: Manual Scans

Click the checkbox next to the system in the System Tree.  At the bottom, click Actions, Agent, Modify Tasks on a Single System.  Click New Task, Give it an appropriate name, and choose "On Demand Scan (VirusScan Enterprise 8.7.0)" (or whatever version you are using) as the Type.  Use the Next button to move through the Configuration and Schedule screens to set all the options the way you want them.  Click Save on the summary screen.  The system will get this task the next time it communicates with ePO, or you can click the checkmark next to it in the System Tree and click the "Wake Up Agents" button at the bottom.

With the default ePO, Agent, and VSE settings, you will only get entries in the Threat Event Log if the On Demand Scan finds something.

Jay

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Manual Scans

Thank you for your response.

Wow that is a lot of setup to run a simple manual scan.  Most AV products allow you to just right-click an agent and start a scan from there.  I've gone through these steps...now my next question is if I set that task to "Run Immediately", is it going to run every time the agent communicates with the ePO?  I already have scheduled scans set up, but I want to be able to just run a manual scan if I suspect that something is going on with a particular agent.

Thank you,

Casey

• 3. Re: Manual Scans

If it is set to run immediately, it will only run once.