4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 10, 2010 6:50 PM by Dinz

McAfee Total Protection at conflict with Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit updates

I am a professional writer. I had a new computer custom built with the best component hardware available. We installed Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit operating system. The technicians who built my computer installed Microsoft Security Essentials on the platform as initial protection. It worked great. No problems in any area. All updates and programs run smooth. I have a subscription for 3 computer McAfee Total Protection, therefore, I uninstalled Microsoft Security Essentials and installed one of the subscriptions to McAfee Total Protection. Since that time, I have had to uninstall McAfee Total Protection at least a half dozen times. This is from June until September 2010. It seems that quite often McAfee Total Protection will not allow Windows 7 Ultimate to install automatic updates. The system crashes when the updates attempt to automatically install, usually in the middle of the night when the computer is not in use. This results in several hours just trying to get the computer to restart and restore to the earlier setting. Then I have to uninstall McAfee completely. With it uninstalled, the Windows 7 Ultimate updates install without any issues. Then I have to reinstall McAfee. On several occassions I have seen the system crash because of McAfee conflicting with the operating system, throwing up the "Blue Screen" and shutting down because of "Memeory Dump" errors when McAfee itself updates. Clearly there is something amiss in the relationship of McAfee and Windows 7 Ultimate.