1 2 Previous Next 14 Replies Latest reply on Sep 2, 2010 2:26 AM by Attila Polinger

Product deployment issue in 4.5

Ja7

Hi, as a complete novice with using ePO, please be patient and delicate with me! I'm having an issue with product deployment to new systems. Is it a problem with how I deploy the agent? My method of deploying the agent and AV to workstations and servers is as follows:

System Tree

System Tree Actions

New Systems

*Add in new system*

Agent appears within minutes on new system.

Client Tasks

(I have a task called VS which should deploy VirusScan Enterprise 8.5.0.781 and AntiSpyware Enterprise Module 8.5.0.163)

Edit settings

Schedule

*Change the time it runs to around ‘once at’ 2 hours from now e.g. 12:00pm* (should I be able to change this to a sooner time?)

Then I wait and sometimes the software is deployed successfully and other times not.

My 2 questions are – why does it not deploy the software every single time? Is there any other way of deploying the software in the same way that the agent has been installed?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Product deployment issue in 4.5
          JoeBidgood

Hi...

What you're doing sounds fine: however I would receommend running the deployment task on a repeating basis, rather than using the "once" option. The reason is that the "once" option refers to the task, not the installation - so if the task runs once and fails for any reason, it's not going to try again.

Other than that I think you'll be fine

Regards -

Joe

• 2. Re: Product deployment issue in 4.5
            Ja7

So simple and in terms that I understand. Many thanks.

Is it a related issue that I have a non-compliant PC? (which isn't a new system but from the PC itself it declares that it has the latest software). Is it a case of uninstalling and re-installing the agent or something more complex?

• 3. Re: Product deployment issue in 4.5
              JoeBidgood