8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 21, 2010 10:47 AM by Peter M

Incoming Events

Hey guys i was navigating through Mcafee yesterday and i ended up at History and Logs > Incoming Events where i saw some things that got me a bit worried , remote login atempts and several other things, i am no security expert but non of them sound good at all, i will attach a picture with some Incoming Events from the list , maybe someone can tell me if this things are normal or i should worry about them, Thank you !

• 1. Re: Incoming Events
          Peter M

Don't worry.  Those are really FYI only and represent failed attempts at entering your system by whatever means.

• 2. Re: Incoming Events

Okay i'll try not to worry.. thou now things seem to be getting worse , once every 2-5 seconds computers from different IPs attempt to connect to my 63976 udp port, scary stuff.

• 3. Re: Incoming Events
              Peter M

Are you using a router that has the wireless part turned on?    That's usually the culprit.  If you connect wirelessly I suggest you make sure it is encrypted.

If you don't use  a network I would set it to 'Don't Trust" in Home Network Defense - that should make doubly sure you are safe and sound.

• 4. Re: Incoming Events

Nop i don't have a router nor do i connect to the Internet thro a wireless connection , the network is set to untrusted since the first day i installed McAfee, this army of events started invading me like 3 days ago, nothing suspicious till then.

• 5. Re: Incoming Events
                  Peter M

Well as I said, they are all blocked events.  Perhaps your ISP can give you clues as to why they are trying your 'back door' for want of a better expression.   They are letting them through after all.

• 6. Re: Incoming Events
                    rmetzger

Baboon wrote: