3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 22, 2010 5:39 PM by dcundiff

MVM scan of VMware ESX hosts

Hello, I'm fairly new to the Foundstone / MVM appliance. I'm still in the process of implementing an MVM in our environment. Most platform scanning is no problems; Windows workstation / server scans and network device scans are all working and I'm cleaning up the reporting to eliminate what I don't want. I now need to know how to set up scanning of our VMware ESX hosts.

The account permissions are what has got me stuck. I know the scan work similar to the Cisco IOS scans, but what I'm looking for is some advise on how to set up the login account for the VMware hosts to allow the scan to run ... without making it a full blown administrator.

Can anyone provide some guidance?

Cheers

MattieP

• 1. Re: MVM scan of VMware ESX hosts
          jhaynes

Hi Mattie,

Take a look at this KB54752 which I think will answer all of your questions.

You can locate the KB system at this link.  https://mysupport.mcafee.com/Eservice/templatepage.aspx?sURL=3#

Jeff Haynes

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: MVM scan of VMware ESX hosts

Hi Jeffrey,

Thanks for the response. As it turns out, this is the same response Support gave me when I logged a case for it. I'm looking for some more specific information for VMware ESX in particular.

What I guess I'm really after is details from someone who has actually set this up for ESX scanning and how they have created the login, etc, etc.

Cheers

• 3. Re: MVM scan of VMware ESX hosts

Mattie,