Skip navigation
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
4888 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Nov 14, 2013 3:42 PM by Kary Tankink RSS
fsimmons Newcomer 4 posts since
May 12, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

May 12, 2010 2:37 PM

Host Intrusion Prevention for Linux

Hey, i'm new to the McAfee community (this is my first post). I'm also new (as of Jan.) to the McAfee product line (new company). What I wanted to find was a network of ninjas (or Security Professionals knowledgable on linux hips) to bounce some tribal knowledge on HIPS for linux around. Coming from other products there are some features that I think would be nice for them to have (*Cough* Network Monitoring, swatch like behavior for matching regular expressions and creating events based on content, Network monitoring, ability to have a backup epo server in the event of the primary going down (for failover), Network Monitoring, and Network Monitoring!

I'm putting together a ruleset of custom rules for file monitoring (you know things that would of been nice to have come standard as part of the basic policy but was not there) of a lot of key OS config files. I'm still a little green with HIPS for the McAfee line so i still need to test to see if i can just monitor /etc and it will grab /etc/[subdir] and /etc/[file] and /etc/[subdir]/[file] without me having to specify every important file in etc. Also, if anyone has any experience in this realm, are there big performance hits by having a lot of tracked files with this?

So, kind of leaving this discussion open ended. Please reply with any tips/tricks things you figured out through trial and error or usage. Things for new people like, helpful log locations such as the hipus log or HipMgtPlugin.log (when hipts message logging is set to all).

Anyone know of a manual (from the server) way to initiate a wake up?